Friday, 10 July 2015

Akwa Ibom Assembly sacks 31 LG councils

Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly has
sacked members of the 31 local
government councils in the states, directing
their chairmen to immediately handover all
government property in their custody to the
heads of service of the councils. Speaker of
the House of Assembly, Mr. Aniekan Uko,
said yesterday, that in line with the 1999
Constitution (as amended), the tenure of
the local government chairmen would
expire by 12 midnight today.
He said the local government councils were
inaugurated on July 11, 2012 with three
years life span. The speaker directed all
the 31 local government councils to return
all government property and documents in
their possession to their heads of service.
He also directed the Clerk of the Assembly,
Mrs. Mandu Umoren, to communicate its
resolution to Governor. Udom Emmanuel for
necessary action. Earlier, leader of the
Assembly, Mr Udo Kerien, representing Oruk
Anam constituency moved a motion for the
dissolution of the local government councils
and was seconded by Mr. Usoro Akpausoh
representing Esit Eket/Ibeno constituency.

The house also received a notice of motion
against the plan to establish a nuclear
plant in Akwa Ibom. It was sponsored by
Mr Nse Essien representing Onna
constituency. The motion urged the
Assembly to pass a resolution calling on
the National Atomic Energy Commission
and the Federal Government to reconsider
its desire to build a nuclear plant in the
state because of its high population
density. The motion also urged the federal
government to explore other available and
harmless sources of power in the state,
including increasing the capacity of Ibom
Power Plant. The speaker however referred
the motion to the Committee on
Environment for in-depth study. The
committee was asked to report back to the
house within one week.

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think?